Advising

 

Advising

For general questions about the ENVS major see one of the following two advisors:

  • Glenn Fieldman - Urban, Humanities and ESSJ emphases; NRMC students with last names beginning L-Z
  • Raquel Pinderhughes (Urban emphasis)
  • Joel Kassiola (ESSJ emphasis)
  • Autumn Thoyre (ESSJ emphasis)

For questions about your concentration see your concentration advisor:

  • ESSJ – Glenn Fieldman or Joel Kassiola
  • NRMC – Glenn Fieldman 
  • Humanities –  Nancy (Sami) Reist and (Glenn Fieldman backup)
  • ESS – Jason Gurdak, or for the ESS chemical analysis emphasis - Tomoko Komada
  • Urban--Raquel Rivera Pinderhughes

For questions about study abroad and getting into ENVS please see Glenn Fieldman. 

Advisor Office Hours for Summer 2017

Please note: all office hours listed are drop-in hours, no appointment needed

Carlos Davidson, Professor & ENVS Advisor

carlosd@sfsu.edu
HSS 332
(415) 405-2127
Office hours: on leave Spring 2017

Glenn Fieldman, Associate Professor, ENVS Program Coordinator and ESSJ Advisor 

glenn@sfsu.edu
HSS 330
(415) 405-2431

Office hours:  by appointment 

Autumn Thoyre, Assistant Professor 

Office: HSS 339
Phone: 415-338-1015
Email: athoyre@sfsu.edu

Office hours:  by appointment 
 

Jason Gurdak, Assistant Professor of Geosciences, ESS Advisor

jgurdak@sfsu.edu
TH 538
(415) 338-6869
Office hours: on sabbatical Spring 2017

Joel Kassiola, Professor of Political Science, ESSJ Advisor

kassiola@sfsu.edu
HUM 539
(415) 338-3463
Office hours: by appointment

Tomoko Komada, Professor of Chemical Oceanography, ESS Chemical Analysis Advisor 

tkomada@sfsu.edu
TH 823
(415) 338-3748
Office hours:  by appointment

Nancy (Sami) Reist, Professor of BECA, HUM Advisor

sami@sfsu.edu
HUM 253
(415) 338-2241
Office hours:  by appointment

Raquel Rivera Pinderhughes, Professor of Urban Studies, Urban Advisor

raquelrp@sfsu.edu
HSS 137
(415) 338-7520
Office hours: by appointment